Philip Glass’s ‘Etudes’ & John Carpenter’s ‘Lost Themes’

A big thank you goes out to my sister, Jenny, for giving me the piano book for Phlip Glass’s Complete Etudes. It was a wonderful present. I’m a massive Philip Glass fan, have been ever since I fell in love with his score for Candyman, and, although I’m not a great pianist, I’m sure I’ll have a lot of fun getting to grips with these twenty etudes. Thanks sis! Now if only my next subject would release some sheet music.

DU10967

John Carpenter may be better known as a director of badass horror films such as Halloween, The Thing and Ghosts of Mars (yes I consider Ghosts of Mars badass) but as a composer he is, in my opinion, alongside Fabio Frizzi, Claudio Simonetti, Wojciech Kilar (RIP), Philip Glass, Vangelis and Angelo Badalamenti, among the very best best at scoring films. To be so gifted a storyteller and musician is truly inspiring. Being very naturally disposed towards jealousy I would normally hate someone like him for being so talented but Carpenter is so good at what he does I just can’t.

98b0eaee

Lost Themes by Carpenter, recently released by Sacred Bones Records, is being described as his first solo album. By that I think they mean that the music doesn’t accompany a movie and that’s fine because all Carpenter’s soundtracks were capable of standing alone and Lost Themes is no exception. It’s a wonderful aural experience. I highly recommend it for anyone who likes soundtrack music from the 80s. We might not be getting new films from Carpenter but at least his giving us music to inspire us to make our own.

Leave a Reply

